Home - Qatar History - 6th Grade SS - LibGuides at The American School of Doha

Books in Our Library

The library has several books on Qatar, including these:

Qatar by Tamra Orr
Call Number: 953.63 ORR
ISBN: 0761425667
Publication Date: 2007
Provides comprehensive information on the geography, history, governmental structure, economy, environment, culture, religion, language, and food of Qatar.
Hidden in the Sands - English by Frances Gillespie; Faisal Al-Naimi
Call Number: 953.63 GIL
ISBN: 9781909339064
Publication Date: 2013
Explores the history and culture of ancient Qatar and examines archaeological sites, including the pearl trading town of Al Zubara.

Old Pictures from Qatar

Old pictures from Qatar
These pictures were given to the school by Saleh Ali Al-Marri, a Qatar History Day guest in 2013.

These pictures were donated by Saleh Ali Al-Marri, a guest at Qatar History Day 2013.

ASD's Qatar History Day

Qatar History Day Websites 2014
These sites were created by the class of 2020 when they were 6th graders.
Qatar History Day websites 2013
These sites were created by the 6th grade class (the class of 2019).
Qatar History Day websites 2011
These sites were created the the 8th grade class (the class of 2017).

News Organizations in Qatar

Doha

Recommended Websites

Hidden in the Sands: Uncovering Qatar's Past
Find out how archaeologists work, discover what lies beneath the sands and seas and rocks of Qatar, and learn how these artefacts are excavated and conserved. Based on the book Hidden in the Sands by Frances Gillespie and Faisal Abdulla Al-Naimi.
CIA World Factbook - Qatar
Qatar Unified Imaging Project
This group is trying to provide a portal to gather all sorts of images and documents about Qatar. The project is relatively new. Keep checking back for new additions.
BBC News - Qatar Profile
Qatar's Constitution - from the General Secretariat of the Council of Ministers
Explore Qatar
An 'everything you want to know about Qatar' kind of site
Qatar Anthem
Qatar Tourism
State of Qatar directory
Numerous links to Qatar information. Last updated in 2011, so some links might not work.
Cultural-Heritage - from QMA
This page is from the Qatar Museums Authority. Use the drop-down menu from the top of the page to navigate this site.
Qatar Islamic Archaeology and Heritage Project
This site is from the University of Copenhagen, which is in charge of the archeological digs in Qatar.
Project underway to unlock secrets of Doha’s past
Ebooks about Qatar
This page from the National Day Celebration website has some ebooks that you might find interesting.
Background about The Founder Sheikh Jassim Bin Mohammad Bin Thani
Historical Qatar
Slide show by Tammi Moe for Qatar History Day
10 Qatar heritage sites
Forts, towers, archaeological, sites heritage centres and more
New Museums in Qatar 1
Doha News article about newly opened museums in Qatar.
New Museums in Qatar 2
Time Out Doha article about four brand new museums in Qatar.
Harvard profile - Qatar
This website is a brief history about Qatar. Written by Harvard's divinity school.

Recommended Databases

These databases both have sections on Qatar.

Country Reports
- This link opens in a new window
After logging in, search the Countries list for Qatar.

Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
You must use the World Edition to find Qatar.

Map of Qatar

View Larger Map

Welcome to Doha video

Research Tools

ASD Database passwords
more...less...
Only available to ASD students and staff.

Qatar Digital Library

The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is making a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online for the first time. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.

Qatar Digital Library

Recommended Websites

Use Webpath Express to find teacher-recommended websites through the Destiny library catolog.

Museums/Cultural Centers

Doha Film Institute
The Doha Film Institute (DFI) is an umbrella organization bringing all of Qatar’s various film initiatives under a single banner.
Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art
They host exhibitions, programs and events that explore and celebrate art by Arab artists. An inspiring space for dialogue and scholarship about modern and contemporary art in the region.
Museum of Islamic Art
The Museum of Islamic Art is a museum designed by architect I. M. Pei.
The museum draws much influence from ancient Islamic architecture, yet has a unique design. It was the first of its kind in the Persian Gulf and has a very large collection of Islamic art, plus a study, library, and restaurant.
Qatar Museums Authority
Their mission is "To unite and focus the efforts of all museums in the State of Qatar for the acquisition, preservation and interpretation of collections and monuments held in trust for the Qatari people, to be shared with national and tourist audiences."
Qatar Natural History Group
The Qatar Natural History Group (QNHG) was founded more than 30 years ago in November 1978 to 'bring together people with an interest in the natural history of Qatar and the Gulf."
Qulture
Qulture’s mission is to become the premier guide to Qatar and the region’s changing cultural landscape, and to create a global dialogue about the importance of art and culture in Qatar and the Middle East.
Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum

Middle School Librarian

Kathy Kersting

Qatar History - 6th Grade SS: Home

Books in Our Library

Old Pictures from Qatar

ASD's Qatar History Day

News Organizations in Qatar

Doha

Recommended Websites

Recommended Databases

Map of Qatar

Welcome to Doha video

Research Tools

Qatar Digital Library

Recommended Websites

Museums/Cultural Centers

Middle School Librarian

Libguide Creator Lauren Elliott; updated by Kathy Kersting