Skip to main content

ASD Libraries Annual Report 2016: Strategy 2

ASD Strategy Two

We will enhance the academic and intellectual development of our students and adults through challenging curricula, innovative approaches to deep learning, and creating optimal learning environments for student growth. 

Deeper Learning in the Library

Our 3rd and 4th grade classes had an opportunity to embark upon an inquiry project of their own making. The Upper Elementary initiated the “Curiosity Project”, a self-directed learning experience. Their questions were wide ranging, including “How does an engine work?”, “How is animation done?”, “What is cancer?”, and “How does echolocation work?”  Students explored books, used various digital resources as well as interviewed authorities available on staff. Each student found a way to share their learning with others, including posters, finished products, such as a skateboard, and mini-presentations. Teachers, librarians, parents and members of the community worked to support the students as they explored their diverse topics.

We continue to use great databases like MyOn, PebbleGo, Britannica, Groliers, and World Book to support student learning and encourage ethical use of information.  We believe teaching students to use good resources from a young age is a key to helping them become more effective researchers in the future.

The focus in Lower Elementary is on enjoying reading and developing reading skills. Grades Pre-K through grade 2, have regularly scheduled library classes each week. Classes focus on various themes including Library citizenship, sections in the library, authors and illustrators, parts of a book, literature appreciation, award winning titles, as well as the opportunity to self-select appropriate materials to checkout. A number of electronic book sources have been subscribed to to support these goals including BookFlixMyOn, and TumbleBooks 

 

 

UE Student survey comment: "The library is a quiet place to read. When I have time to do homeowrk, I do it there. I do homework here because it is quiet after school."

From the Middle School Student Survey

  • In the library, I have a wide range of different books that I can freely read.  This helped me read better, and enjoy it more.
  • For some of my assignments, I had to have some print sources.  I didn't know where to find them other than the library.  It has a wide variety of topics so it was very helpful to me because I had good sources that were in print.
  • The school library really helped me one time when I had a project to work on and I needed a quiet place to work.

                                   

From the 2016 Senior Exit Survey

Think about one time in your ASD career when the school library really helped you. Write about the help that you got, and what you were able to do because of it.

  • The ASD library and everyone who works there have always been extremely helpful and I find myself turning to the library a lot in times of projects, essays, and exams. There are so many resources available; such as books, printers, and encyclopedias. More importantly, however, I had to write an extended essay for my IB diploma that started September of junior year and finished early in my senior year. Ms. Hoiseth was extremely helpful as she taught our cohort how to effectively use notecards while note-taking (including the citations and the specific pieces of information that we took from that source) so that the essay writing process is much easier. I used her technique and I could honestly say that it was the number one thing that helped me successfully write my extended essay. It was very easy to add citations and to simply organize my essay once I used this technique. Furthermore, I got a really good score on my extended essay and I'm sure a huge reason for that is because I used this technique so I'm very thankful that Ms. Hoiseth and the library were able to teach me this!

MS/HS Class Visits to the Library

Stop by the MSHS library on almost any day, and you'll find it buzzing with activity. Students are welcome to come in on their own whenever they have free time, and they work along classes that come as a group. In the MS, SWAT groups are scheduled on a routine basis for book talks and checkout. The social studies classes come the most often for research assigments in both the middle and high school. In high school, the foreign language classes visit for conversational Spanish practice and silent reading time. The English classes come to the library for research, book checkout, and silent reading.

         

         

 

Results from Faculty Library Surveys

  HS teachers in agreement

My librarian effectively communicates about library activities and opportunities.

100%
My librarian collaborates with me to provide support for student learning. 89%
My librarian selects and curates resources that support the curriculum and my teaching. 90%
I am satisfied with the support the library provides for student learning. 100%
My students benefit from their time in the library. 88%
Library resources are appropriate for my students’ needs. 88%
The library is an appealing, organized, effective learning environment. 91%
The library promotes an appreciation of literature and a culture of reading. 96%
The library staff responds to my requests in a timely manner. 100%

Results from student surveys

Percent of students in agreement:
  HS students
The ASD library has helped me know the different steps in finding and using information. 87
The ASD library has helped me find different sources of information for my topics. 91
The ASD library has helped me know when I find good information. 85
The ASD library has helped me find different opinions about my topics. 82.5
The ASD library has helped me when I do not understand some things. 84

 

E-Book Survey MS/HS

In our efforts to keep our services and collection current, we surveyed MS and HS students about usage of e-books vs. print books.  

        

        

We are always looking for suggestions and want to know our book budget is being spent in the best way possible. As you can see from the data collected, it is clear students continue to prefer our print book collection for pleasure reading. The data for research reading isn't as clear. We were trying to only ask about book resources, but from the comments it seems that some of the students chose "books on a laptop" because no other web-based research was listed as an option. We'll write a better survey question next year.

While we will continue to invest in our Kindles for pleasure reading, we will focus on our print collection, and not invest in an online e-book subscription. We will survey students and teachers again in the future. 

2015 Endicott Parent Survey Results

  % in agreement

My child knows how to effectively use the school's library resources.

98.4%

MS/HS Information Literacy Lessons

The MS and HS teacher-librarians work with classes in the library and in the classroom, helping students to develop inquiry skills as they study the course curricula. The high school librarian worked with the senior seminar, social studies, English, science, art, and theater classes as students took on research projects. The middle school librarian worked with social studies, language arts, electives, service learning, PE and science to teach information literacy lessons and during research assignments. 

From the faculty surveys:

  • I appreciate the help that has been provided in my classes. When I ask, Libguides are created before I have even planned my units! Thank you for that!
  • Always helpful and accommodating and knowledgeable. Team teacher.
  • My librarian goes out of her way to help students with research papers, from finding appropriate resources to helping kids with the detail work of their citations. She spends lots of time on individual students.
  • Our librarians are passionate about research and go above and beyond in helping students find difficult sources.

                                          

2015 Faculty Endicott Survey Results

  % in agreement
Library members are helpful and knowedgable. 99.3
I have consulted the school librarian when developing or revising curriculum and the library staff considers my opinion in the selection of materials and equipment. 93.7

From the 2016 Senior Exit Survey

Think about one time in your ASD career when the school library really helped you. Write about the help that you got, and what you were able to do because of it.

  • It isn't really one specific time that I remember best. I just appreciated all of the databases we could use for Senior Sem. Having so many to choose from made it really easy to rack up those quality sources, and it was fun to read about my topic from so many different points of views. I was able to get a lot of evidence for my papers and better develop my ideas for what I wanted to write.
  • I learned how to properly research for material for certain projects and what information was reliable or not. I was able to have accurate sources of information for countless projects done in school.
  • The ASD library was my go-to for any supplementary information I needed for my extended essay. I was able to get most of my data online, but the qualitative information that I found using the encyclopedias on hand was really useful. Also, Mrs. Hoiseth was very helpful any time I had a question about potential sources of information or for help with citations.
  • I mean, literally any project I've ever done, a lbrarian was there to help me get the proper materials, so that was amazing. Thank you for helping me not fail.

MSHS Database Usage -- New Graphs + JSTOR

Databases appropriate for student research are some of the most important resources the library provides.

Students are often often encouraged to begin their research with a general encyclopedia, which results in high usage numbers for World Book and Britannica. Britannica also includes ImageQuest, a copyright friendly source of images, which accounts for over 1/3 of Britannica's hits.

EBSCO is our largest database that covers almost any topic. BrainPop is a video database that was used extensively in sixth grade this year. 

Gale, Facts on File, and ABC-CLIO databases are specialty databases that are appropriate for specific subject areas. Students are welcome to use them at any time, and are directed to them for specific assignments.

This year we also added JSTOR, a database of academic journals, books, and primary sources primarily from the social sciences and humanities.  JSTOR was highly used this year by English and Social Studies students, and we expect usage to continue to grow in the coming years.

Based on usage statistics, ASD will cancel its subscriptions to CIAO, CQ Researcher, Literature Resource Center, and Issues and Controversies in American History. Similar information is available through the other databases we subscribe to.

Our relationship with Qatar National Library enables students and teachers to access a number of databases for free while on campus, including the Proquest suite, the Naxos suite, and VAST.  Our students conducted over 1700 searches in Proquest in the past year. In addition, we are able to access the Tumblebooks suite of database both on and off campus. These are invaluable resources for our students and teachers.