Home - 8 Science - Comparative Anatomy - LibGuides at The American School of Doha

Mr. Sorbetti & Mr. Ritchie's Assignment

Comparative Anatomy & Evolution Instructions and Rubric

Middle School (GALE in Context)

ASD Database Passwords

Science (GALE in Context)

ASD Database Passwords

Environmental Studies (GALE in Context)

ASD Database Passwords

Science (GALE Interactive)

ASD Database Passwords

Pigeon Info

Pigeon in 3D
You may need to login with username and password. See ASD Database passwords document.

Britannica

Choose Middle

You will need to login with username and password if you are using from home.

ASD Database Passwords

Explora Middle School: EBSCO

You will need to login with username and password if you are using from home.

Use Advanced Search to search by reading / grade level.
Database Passwords

SIRS Discoverer (ProQuest)

Use Advanced Search to search by reading / grade level.
ASD Database Passwords

Amphibians, Mammals, Reptiles, Birds & General Animal Sites

Image Credit: Amsel, Sherri "Frog (Green)", Exploring Nature, 2016.

Amphibian - Encyclopedia
Read and find more links about Amphibians from Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
Characteristics and Evolution of Amphibians - Boundless.com
Read about the evolution of amphibians here.
Mammal - Encyclopedia
Read and find more links about Mammals from Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
Mammals Index - Enchanted Learning
Learn about mammals or choose your specific mammal from the a to z list. (Use ASD Database Password.)
Characteristics and Evolution of Mammals - Boundless
Read about the evolution of mammals here.
Reptile - Encyclopedia
Read and find more links about Reptiles from Encyclopedia Britannica.
Characteristics and Evolution of Reptiles - Boundless
Read about the evolution of reptiles here.
Bird - Encyclopedia
Read and find more links about Birds from Funk and Wagnall's.
Characteristics and Evolution of Birds - Boundless
Read about the evolution of birds here.
Frog - Encyclopedia
Read and find more links about Frogs from Encyclopedia Britannica.
Animal facts - National Geographic (link not working at this time)
A to Z list of animals!
Animal Facts Encyclopedia
Choose from the a to z list of animals to learn more.
Animal Types - National Geographic Kids
Fossil Record - Encyclopedia
The fossil record provides evidence that addresses fundamental questions about the origin and history of life on the earth.

Evolution & Adaptation Websites

Comparative Anatomy
Read and find more links about Comparative Anatomy from Gale in Context: Science. (Use ASD Database Password.)
OneZoom Tree of Life Explorer
An interactive map of the evolutionary relationships between 2,123,179 species of life on our planet.
A to Z animals - Evolution
General information about animal evolution and adaptation.
Understanding Evolution - Boundless.com
Details on evolution and natural selection.
Adaptive Evolution - Boundless.com
Natural selection drives adaptive evolution by selecting for and increasing the occurrence of beneficial traits in a population.
Why is a dolphin not a cat?
Study of gene regulation in 20 mammals provides insight into how species diverged millions of years ago.
The Evolution of Mammals - Enchanted Learning
Mammals evolved during the Triassic period, about the same time that the first dinosaurs appeared; includes list of animals leading to mammals. (Use ASD Database Password.)

Body Systems Websites

Biology 4 Kids - Body Systems
Overview of all systems. Choose your specific system on the right hand side for more information.
Skeletal System - Encyclopedia
Read and find more links about the skeletal system from Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
Muscular System - Encyclopedia
Read and find more links about the muscular system from Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
Respiratory System - Anatomy of Animals
Detailed information about animal respiratory systems.
Circulatory System - BioTopics
Information and helpful diagrams about the circulatory system.
Vertebrates - Encyclopedia
General info about vertebrates and their different body systems. (amphibians, reptiles, etc.).
Nervous System - Encyclopedia
General information about the nervous system.
Digestive Systems - Boundless.com
General information about digestive systems of animals.
Boundless Biology - Systems and more!
Table of Contents for easy to read and easy to understand info!
Boundless - Anatomy and Physiology
Choose the chapter that fits your system/organ.

AP Video - Youtube

Smithsonian - Youtube

Organ Systems Song

Research Tools

NoodleTools "How To" Videos for a Variety of Sources
All Online Databases
Find usernames/passwords here; for ASD students and staff.
ASD Database passwords
more...less...
Only available to ASD students and staff.

Compare and Contrast Writing Tips

Compare and Contrast - Read Write Think
Click through the pages for advice on how to write compare and contrast paragraphs.
Compare and Contrast Sample: Nests and Houses - Read Write Think
PowerPoint Presentation: Provides the visual support students need to help them identify key elements and structures in compare/contrast texts.

Books in Our Library

The library has several books on animal anatomy, including these. Be sure to look at the link below for more titles.

Anatomy - Animal Science

Anatomy and Physiology by Marshall Cavendish Corporation
Call Number: 612 ANA
ISBN: 0761478817
Publication Date: 2009
How Animals Work by Dorling Kindersley Publishing
Call Number: 571.1 BUR
ISBN: 0756658977
Publication Date: 2010
Evolution by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Linda Gamlin
Call Number: 576.8 GAM
ISBN: 0756650283
Publication Date: 2009-05-18

eBooks

If the link does not work, go into the catalog and search for the title and author. Open the eBook version from there.

Adaptation by Melanie Waldron
Call Number: 578.4 WAL
ISBN: 9781432986087
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
(Unlimited Copies) Our world is incredibly diverse, and plants and animals must adapt in order to survive. This book will teach readers how adaptation works, why living things must adapt, and how a changing world makes adaptation more necessary than ever.
Who Discovered Natural Selection? by Anna Claybourne
Call Number: 576.8 CLA
Publication Date: 2015
(Unlimited Copies) Explores how scientists discovered the way living things evolve, highlighting Charles Darwin's theory of evolution and explaining how it lead to the discovery of natural selection.
Protists by Rona Arato
Call Number: 579 ARA
ISBN: 9780778791812
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
(Unlimited Copies) An introduction to the protists kingdom that discusses how the organisms within it are classified and describes their interactions with other life-forms.

Middle School Librarian

Kathy Kersting

8 Science - Comparative Anatomy: Home

Mr. Sorbetti & Mr. Ritchie's Assignment

Middle School (GALE in Context)

Science (GALE in Context)

Environmental Studies (GALE in Context)

Science (GALE Interactive)

Pigeon Info

Britannica

Explora Middle School: EBSCO

SIRS Discoverer (ProQuest)

Amphibians, Mammals, Reptiles, Birds & General Animal Sites

Evolution & Adaptation Websites

Body Systems Websites

AP Video - Youtube

Smithsonian - Youtube

Organ Systems Song

Research Tools

Compare and Contrast Writing Tips

Books in Our Library

eBooks

Middle School Librarian

Libguide Creator Lauren Elliott; updated by Kathy Kersting