LibGuides: IB Art: Home

ASD Electronic Resources

ASD Databases

We now use Google SSO (single sign on). Use your ASD email address to log in to your account.

EBSCO Explora - High School
A collection of EBSCO databases for high school students.
Britannica
- This link opens in a new window
An online reference system with three different levels of resources.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
ProQuest Arts Journals
This database is provided by Qatar National Library and is available from campus only.
Issues and Controversies (Infobase / Facts on File)
- This link opens in a new window
This would be a great database to explore your focus topic or for the social statement unit.

The ASD library has a great collection of art books, including these:

The Art Museum by Phaidon Press Editors (Editor); Frederick M. Asher; Lisa Beaven; Marshall Becker
Call Number: REF 708 ART
ISBN: 9780714856520
Publication Date: 2011
This unique book was created with a global team of specialists in all fields of art, including museum curators and educators, who have collected together important works as they might be displayed in the ideal museum for the art lover. Features 992 oversized pages of nearly 2,700 works of art.
History of Modern Art (Paperback) by H. H. Arnason; Elizabeth C. Mansfield
ISBN: 0205259472
Publication Date: 2012
Traces the origins, growth, and development of art from the mid-nineteenth century to the early twenty-first century, discussing its various forms and expressions; and explains how to understand and enjoy modern paintings, sculpture and architecture.

Find:

Advanced Search

Guggenheim Archive
This site has 109 free art books and catalogs.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
Browse and download over 250 art books.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Search the MetPublications site with almost 400 titles.
MoMA - Exhibition History
Over 3500 exhibitions from the Museum of Modern Art's history are now available online.

Doha Film Institute
The Doha Film Institute (DFI) is an umbrella organization bringing all of Qatar’s various film initiatives under a single banner.
Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art
They host exhibitions, programs and events that explore and celebrate art by Arab artists. An inspiring space for dialogue and scholarship about modern and contemporary art in the region.
Museum of Islamic Art
The Museum of Islamic Art is a museum designed by architect I. M. Pei.
The museum draws much influence from ancient Islamic architecture, yet has a unique design. It was the first of its kind in the Persian Gulf and has a very large collection of Islamic art, plus a study, library, and restaurant.
Qatar Museums Authority
Their mission is "To unite and focus the efforts of all museums in the State of Qatar for the acquisition, preservation and interpretation of collections and monuments held in trust for the Qatari people, to be shared with national and tourist audiences."
Qatar Natural History Group
The Qatar Natural History Group (QNHG) was founded more than 30 years ago in November 1978 to 'bring together people with an interest in the natural history of Qatar and the Gulf."
Qulture
Qulture’s mission is to become the premier guide to Qatar and the region’s changing cultural landscape, and to create a global dialogue about the importance of art and culture in Qatar and the Middle East.
Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum

Task 1: Comparative Study
A	Analysis of formal qualities
B	Interpretation of function and purpose
C	Evaluation of cultural significance
D	Making comparisons and connections
E	Presentation and specific language
F	(HL only) Making connections to own art-making practice