Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Qatar National Library
The Qatar National Library has fantastic electronic resources available to Qatari residents aged 18 and over. See Ms. Hoiseth if you'd like to explore some of these resources.
This online database indexes citations and full-text materials from several Gale literature databases. Advanced search options include interactive search term clustering and term frequency graphs.
It covers over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals in Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science. The database also includes perpetual access to all backfiles.
International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 international periodicals. The database includes over 500,000 records, the majority of which index articles after 1998.
The JSTOR archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire back runs of journals (from volume 1, issue 1) are provided with an embargo for the most recent 3 years.
This online database provides an extensive compilation of literary commentary covering centuries of analysis. It includes scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Literature Resource Center is a comprehensive online literature database that provides access to full text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines covering all genres, disciplines, and time periods.
This online database provides indexing and full-text access to thousands of poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches in various areas such as literature, history, economics, sociology, art & architecture, philosophy, psychology, science, and drama dating back to the 9th Century BC. Its entries include biographies, author pictures, and entry explanations.
Naxos Video Library is a streaming video library of classical music performances, operas, ballets, live concerts, and documentaries.
This link points to a search page that will simultaneously search most Proquest products.
ProQuest Research Library is a general database with a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The database includes more than 5,000 titles starting from 1971.
Recommended Databases for Theatre
We now use Google SSO (single sign on). Use your ASD email address to log in to your account.
No matter what note-taking technique you use, these are important guidelines to follow:
- Develop, modify, then stick to a strategy that works for you.
- Read for understanding.
- Paraphrase! (That's how you know you understand.)
- Be able to trace every single idea in your notes to its source.
- Write just enough - not so much that it's like reading the original all over again, not so little that you don't know what it means later.
- Abbreviations, symbols, and diagrams are great, as long as you'll remember what they mean.
Books in the Library
For the theatre section in the library, look for call number 792 and REF 792. For scenes and scripts, look for 808-812.
Banned Plays by
Call Number: REF 792 SOV
Publication Date: 2004
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that explore the censorship histories of 125 plays from ancient times into the twenty-first century, each with the name of the play, the date and place of its original production, and a summary; and includes profiles of the playwrights, and a list of one hundred additional challenged or censored plays.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by
Call Number: 792.03 OXF
Publication Date: 2003
Contains entries that explore issues related to theater and performance, covering concepts and theories; styles and movements; historical themes; cities, regions, and linguistic traditions; organizations and institutions; buildings and material elements; and biographies. Arranged alphabetically from A to L.
The Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre by
Call Number: 792.09 OXF
Publication Date: 2001
A scholarly look at 4,500 years of theater, beginning with its Greek origins and concluding with a study of theater since 1970.
More Books in the Library
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by
Call Number: 792 BOR
Publication Date: 2004
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about notable playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, playhouses, dramatic movements, themes and topics, and influential foreign figures in the history of the American theatre.
History of the Theatre by
Call Number: 792 BRO
Publication Date: 2007
Chronicles the history of theater in countries around the world from its origins into the early twenty-first century, highlighting the many different types of theater, and examining theater's component parts, including acting, theatrical space, playwriting, music, and others.
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre by
Call Number: REF 792 ENC
Publication Date: 2006
Contains entries that provide information on aspects of Asian theater, covering countries and regions, theatrical genres and forms, notable men and women, and general topics; arranged alphabetically from A to N.
The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre by
Call Number: 792.0973 CAM
Publication Date: 2007
Over 2,700 entries on venues, plays, people, and other theatrical phenomena and accompanying photographs cover American theater from its earliest beginnings to the twenty-first century, with special attention to the contemporary theater.