Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in the Library
Here are just some of the books the library has on this topic.
Sources in the History of the Modern Middle East by
Call Number: 956.04 KHA
Publication Date: 2010
This unique primary source reader provides first-hand accounts of the events described in Middle Eastern history survey texts. The text is organized into ten chapters featuring chapter introductions and headnotes. The primary source documents cover the late 18th century through the beginning of the 21st, exploring political, social, economic, and cultural history and infusing the volume with the voices of real people.
The Middle East Conflict by
Call Number: REF 956 PEN
Publication Date: 2005
Provides a lucid, comprehensive and objective overview of the people, events and documents that are key to understanding the region. The Almanac covers the roots of the conflict and traces developments to the present day.
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Publication Date: 2007
This book will have background information on some of the key players in the region.
Recommended Databases for Sem 1 Research Assignment
Use these databases as you start your research. They will provide a broad, general overview of your topic as well as some subtopics to consider. Look here for keywords that you can use to search other places.
Published by ProQuest and BYU. Culturegrams creates and publishes excellent and thorough content on countries, states and provinces.
An online reference system with three different levels of resources.
EBSCO Explora - High School
A collection of EBSCO databases for high school students.
Issues and Controversies (Infobase / Facts on File)
Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Student Resources in Context
A general database which includes reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. This database is provided by Qatar National Library and only available from campus.
Use these databases to dig deeper into the historical context of your topics.
Ancient and Medieval History Online (Infobase/Facts on File)
Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations — ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire.
Modern World History Online (Infobase/Facts on File)
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.
World History - Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO)
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers human history in all corners of the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.
World History - The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)
World History: The Modern Era is the latest update of the reference standard of electronic history reference materials for high school and high-level middle school coursework.
Use these databases to find academic/scholarly sources to answer your research question.
This link points to a search page that will simultaneously search most Proquest products. This is provided from Qatar National Library and is only available while on campus.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
We now use Google SSO (single sign on). Use your ASD email address to log in to your account.
All of these newspaper sites have internal search engines. Search within the site to find articles relevant to your topic.
Venngage - Infographics
Use Venngage to create your infographic. Create a free premium account with your ASD email address.
Use Venngage to make infographics and other visual designs. Sign in with your ASD email address to set up a free premium account.
Be sure to use the gear symbol in the upper right-hand corner to choose your paper size before you begin.
Academic Honesty and Infographics:
- Create a complete works cited list in Noodletools.
- Include something on your infographic that lets your audience know that you've done your research and the full works cited list is available. Here are some options:
- Use a QR Code that leads to complete works cited list.
- Create a tiny url to a Googledoc that contains your works cited list.
- Use parenthetical citations.
- Include the urls of your sources.
Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.