Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluate 20th century foreign policy decisions of the USA.
Books in Our Library
There is a cart pulled of US History-specific books. You'll also want to explore the shelves of books related to your topic and search the indices for the impact of US foreign policy.
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. History
Call Number: REF 973 GAL
Publication Date: 2008
U-X-L Encyclopedia of U. S. History
Call Number: REF 973.03 BEN
Publication Date: 2008
Primary Documents by
Call Number: REF 973.91 AME
Publication Date: 2003
Recommended Databases for US History
An online reference system with three different levels of resources.
American History (ABC-CLIO)
From the explorers of the Americas to today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation’s evolution.
American Government (ABC-CLIO)
American Government explains the foundations of our government, connects these concepts to the issues of the day, and examines the strengths and weaknesses of the political and economic systems of the United States by comparing them to those of other countries.
EBSCO Explora - High School
A collection of EBSCO databases for high school students.
This link points to a search page that will simultaneously search most Proquest products. This is provided from Qatar National Library and is only available while on campus.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
This site from the US Department of State "presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity."
US Foreign Policy
This site from the journal Foreign Affairs lists foreign policy topics related to each US president's administration since FDR.
History by Topic
Published by History.com of the A+E Networks
Primary Source Documents - Websites
Library of Congress
"Today's Library of Congress is an unparalleled world resource. The collection of more than 160 million items includes more than 37.8 million cataloged books and other print materials in 470 languages; more than 69.6 million manuscripts; the largest rare book collection in North America; and the world's largest collection of legal materials, films, maps, sheet music and sound recordings."
"We have selected thousands of primary source documents to bring the past to life as classroom teaching tools from the billions preserved at the National Archives. Use the search field above to find written documents, images, maps, charts, graphs, audio and video in our ever-expanding collection that spans the course of American history."
100 Milestone Documents
"The following is a list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
Yale Law School -Avalon Project - Major Document Collections
"The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government."
"This website reflects the work of several groups of teachers who conducted research at the Smithsonian and other national historical organizations. For this reason, some of the primary sources included in Smithsonian Source are not from the Smithsonian collections."
Digital Public Library of America
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Exhibitions are designed to tell stories of national significance using source materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, including letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.
We now use Google SSO (single sign on). Use your ASD email address to log in to your account.
Open this document in Word for best results.
Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.