Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases will be especially useful for history research.
World History - Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO)
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers human history in all corners of the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.
World History - The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)
World History: The Modern Era is the latest update of the reference standard of electronic history reference materials for high school and high-level middle school coursework.
Ancient and Medieval History Online (Infobase/Facts on File)
Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations — ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire.
Modern World History Online (Infobase/Facts on File)
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.
This is a great general database. Choose EBSCOHost Web, and then choose Advanced Placement Source.
This link points to a search page that will simultaneously search most Proquest products. This is provided from Qatar National Library and is only available while on campus.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Issues and Controversies (Infobase / Facts on File)
Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Scholarly vs Popular Articles
Video Tutorial from Wayne State University Library
Start by doing background reading on the topic that intersts you.
- Encyclopedias are a great place to start. ASD has many subject specific encyclopedias for your use.
- Using books - when starting your reseach check the Table of Contents to determine if your topic is included or use the index to find the pages that contain specific information you are looking for.
Are you looking for ideas? Browse through these popular history magzines!
No matter what note-taking technique you use, these are important guidelines to follow:
- Develop, modify, then stick to a strategy that works for you.
- Read for understanding.
- Paraphrase! (That's how you know you understand.)
- Be able to trace every single idea in your notes to its source.
- Write just enough - not so much that it's like reading the original all over again, not so little that you don't know what it means later.
- Abbreviations, symbols, and diagrams are great, as long as you'll remember what they mean.
We now use Google SSO (single sign on). Use your ASD email address to log in to your account.