LibGuides: Ancient Egypt: Fabulous Pharaoh Fight

Assignment

Note-taking PRACTICE LINK: "Pharaoh"
Use this link during our note-taking lesson.

Famous Pharaohs

Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. http://quest.eb.com/search/
126_3759411/1/126_3759411/cite

Hatshepsut

Sneferu

Tutankhamun

Cleopatra

Khufu

Akhenaten

Khafra

Ramses II (Ramses the Great)

Amenhotep III

Thutmose III

Books in Our Library

Hatshepsut by Ellen Galford
Call Number: 933 SHE
ISBN: 9780792236467
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
She was the Egyptian girl who became a master politician and a supreme stateswoman. Inheriting her father's throne along with her young stepson, Hatshepsut was soon crowned pharaoh in her own right.

Pharaoh by David Kennett (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0802795684
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
In Ancient Egypt, the pharaoh is the supreme ruler and overseer of every aspect of life--a living god. Full of fascinating, little-known details Pharaoh shines a jewel-toned light on the lives and afterlives of Seti I and Ramesses II--and the powerful civilizations they built.

Hieroglyphics

Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. http://quest.eb.com/search/139_1890949/1/139_1890949/cite

Learn about hieroglyphics - Eyelid.co.uk
Visit this site for general information about hieroglyphics.
Hieroglyphic typewriter - Eyelid.co.uk
This is a very cool hieroglyphic typewriter!

Related Fiction

My Royal Story: Egyptian Princess by Vince Cross
Call Number: F CRO
ISBN: 9781407116846
The story of Princess Hatshepsut, told in diary form.
Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R. L. LaFevers; Yoko Tanaka (Illustrator)
Call Number: F LA
ISBN: 9780618756384
Publication Date: 2007-04-09
Theodosia Throckmorton has her hands full at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London. When Theo's mother returns from her latest archaeological dig bearing the Heart of Egypt, a legendary amulet belonging to an ancient tomb, Theo learns that it comes inscribed with a curse so black and vile that it threatens to crumble the British Empire from within and start a war too terrible to imagine.
The Book of Time by Guillaume Prevost; William Rodarmor (Translator)
Call Number: F PRE
ISBN: 043988375X
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Sam Faulkner travels back in time to medieval Ireland, ancient Egypt and Renaissance Bruges in search of his missing father.

Pyramids at Giza

Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. http://quest.eb.com/search/126_3736351/1/126_3736351/cite

Recommended Websites

The British Museum - Ancient Egypt
Lots of information about Egyptian life, Gods and Goddesses, mummification and more!
A day in the life of a Pharaoh - PBS
What was a typical day like for a Pharaoh?
Biography.com
Search this site for your Pharaoh.
History.com
Search this site for information and videos about your Pharaoh.
5 Great Mummy Discoveries
Information about the mummies of Hatshepsut, King Tut & Ramses II
Discovering Egypt: Ancient Egyptian Kings and Queens
Biographies of a number of pharaohs can be found here.
Guardians Egypt: Kings and Queens
Information about Tutankhamun, Khufu, Akhenaten and Amenhotep III can be found here.
Ancient Egypt Online: Akhenaten
Great information about Akhenaten/Amenhotep IV.
Ancient Egypt Online: Amenhotep III
Information about Amenotep III can be found here.
What is a Pharaoh?
What exactly is a Pharaoh? This gives us a good understanding.
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Search this site for information about your Pharaoh.
BBC Historic Figures
Click on the first letter of your Pharaoh's name to find information.
Khafre by Dr. Hawass
Information about Khafre/Khafra found here.
Khafra by Mummies to Pyramids
Find info here about Khafre/Khafra.
Ancient Egypt Online
This site has information on Pharaohs, life in Ancient Egypt, Gods and Goddesses, and more!

Britannica Encyclopedia

Choose Middle.

You will need to login with username and password if you are using from home.

ASD Database Passwords

World Book Encyclopedia

Explora Middle School: EBSCO

You will need to login with username and password if you are using from home.

Use Advanced Search to search by reading / grade level.
Database Passwords

History.com King Tut - Coroner Report

History.com Cleopatra - Coroner Report

Research Tools

ASD Database passwords
more...less...
Only available to ASD students and staff signed in to NVS.

Image Quest

Millions of rights cleared images. Photos are high quality and include citation information.

Ebooks Available

Government in the Ancient World by Crabtree Publishing Co. Staff (Editor); Reagan Miller; Hazel Richardson
Call Number: 320.3 GOV
ISBN: 9780778717416
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
This amazing book provides a snapshot of systems of government used by various ancient civilizations. Read about:* what a Chinese dynasty was;* the invention of the idea of democracy in Greece;* Mesopotamia's eye-for-an-eye system of ancient justice.
Art and Culture of Ancient Egypt by Lisa Springer; Neil Morris
Call Number: 932 SPR
ISBN: 9781435835894
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Ancient Egypt is one of the oldest and most fascinating cultures that young adults study. This book covers the major aspects of this ancient civilization including religious beliefs and practices, such as the belief in gods and goddesses, the importance of death and the afterlife, and pyramid building are also discussed.

Recommended Websites

Use Webpath Express to find teacher-recommended websites through the Destiny library catolog.

Ancient Egypt: Fabulous Pharaoh Fight

Assignment

Famous Pharaohs

Books in Our Library

Hieroglyphics

Related Fiction

Pyramids at Giza

Recommended Websites

Britannica Encyclopedia

World Book Encyclopedia

Explora Middle School: EBSCO

History.com King Tut - Coroner Report

History.com Cleopatra - Coroner Report

Research Tools

Image Quest

Ebooks Available

Recommended Websites

Libguide Creator Lauren Elliott; updated by Kathy Kersting