LibGuides: MS MUN: Health

Books from the Library

The World Health Organization by Peggy Kahn (Contribution by); G. S. Prentzas; Obijiofor Aginam
ISBN: 0791098397
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Established in 1948 to promote 'the highest possible level of health' in all peoples, the World Health Organization provides a clearinghouse for information on the latest developments in disease and healthcare.
Outbreaks by Charles Piddock
ISBN: 1426302630
Publication Date: 2008-08-12
Outbreaks provides a fascinating introduction to the fight against infectious diseases, including scientists who discovered various viruses and bacteria. The text outlines how we have learned to fight nature's harmful strains and to use others to our advantage; it also provides the latest findings on bird flu and SARS, Ebola and AIDS, and highly resistant strains of tuberculosis.
Pandemics and Global Health by Barry Youngerman
ISBN: 0816070202
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
This is a comprehensive resource on the pandemics that threaten our world.
Promoting Health, Preventing Disease by Rebecca Vickers; Geoff Ward (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1410943224
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
This book looks at what individuals can do to stay healthy, as well as the wider issues of disease prevention and treatment around the world.

Explora Middle School: EBSCO

You will need to login with username and password if you are using from home.

Use Advanced Search to search by reading / grade level.
Database Passwords

Culture Grams

You will need to login with username and password if you are using from home.

ASD Database Passwords

Helpful links for starting research

UN Global Issues
Contains basic information, definitions and statistics for various issues.
CIA World Fact Book
Great source for basic country facts and information
UN Research Guides
Essentially, LibGuides through the UN. VERY helpful!
United Nations Foundation
Good place to look for possible solutions or actions tried by the UN...UN Foundation connects people, ideas and resources with the UN to solve the great global challenges of the 21st century. They provide fiscal services for UN agencies and programs.
MS Library Database Passwords
When using databases like Country Profiles or Culture Grams you will need to log in using the ASD passwords.
US State Department
United States Department of State offers background information on a variety of global issues.

"They say, I say"
This guide to discussing issues from the University of Minnesota Libraries may be helpful in framing your argument.

IconsProject
University of Maryland resource which allows you to search by region, country or issue area and provides general information and statistics.
WWW Virtual Library: Peace and Security
This WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.

NGO's that work with this topic-possible source of information on potential solutions and past actions

UN agencies working in health

United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS
United Nations Population Fund
Supports matters of reproductive, adolescent and maternal health
United Nations Children’s Fund
health related issues regarding youth
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
World Health Organization
Pan-American Health Organization

Conventions and international agreements about health

International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights
It commits its parties to work toward the granting of economic, social, and cultural rights (ESCR), including labour rights and the right to health, the right to education, and the right to an adequate standard of living.
Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities
The Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities is an international human rights treaty of the United Nations intended to protect the rights and dignity of persons with disabilities. Parties to the Convention are required to promote, protect, and ensure the full enjoyment of human rights by persons with disabilities and ensure that they enjoy full equality under the law.
Constitution of the World Health Organization
The Constitution defines the right to health as "the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of health," and enumerates some principles of this right as healthy child development; equitable dissemination of medical knowledge and its benefits; and government-provided social measures to ensure adequate health.
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination
The Convention calls upon States to "Prohibit and to eliminate racial discrimination in all its forms and to guarantee the right of everyone, without distinction as to race, colour, or national or ethnic origin, to equality before the law," and references under this provision "The right to public health, medical care, social security and social services."