LibGuides: 7 PE: Alcohol & Nicotine Research Project: Home

Assignment Handouts

Alcohol & Nicotine Summative, Note-Taking & Rubric 2019

Well-being

Physical
Social
Mental/Emotional
Spiritual

Brain Pop

Database Passwords

Britannica Encyclopedia

Choose Middle.

You will need to login with username and password if you are using from home.

ASD Database Passwords

Books in Our Library

The library has several books on alcohol and nicotine reserved on a shelf in the library, including these:

Teens and Smoking by Gail Synder
Call Number: 362.29 SYN
ISBN: 9781601529183
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Medical science has proven that cigarette-smoking is a serious health hazard. So why are so many teens picking up the habit? The Teen Choices series explores the choices teens face as they develop an understanding of risks and consequences and of right and wrong. Real world examples and comments from teens add interest and depth.
Investigate Alcohol by Marylou Ambrose; Veronica Deisler
Call Number: 362.292 AMB
ISBN: 9781464404498
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Straightforward information about alcohol, from the physical effects it has on someone's body to reasons why people drink, underage drinking, alcohol's effects on the body, and its influence on behavior and mental health. Personal stories and the latest statistics bring the dangers of alcohol abuse into focus.

MORE BOOKS RELATED TO ALCOHOL AND NICOTINE

Recommended Websites

TeensHealth
This site is by Nemours. Check for facts on tobacco and alcohol.
Medline Plus - Teen Health
This excellent site is sponsored by the National Institute of Health. Use the in-site search engine.
Tween and Teen Health - Mayo Clinic
This site is from a very reputable clinic in the United States. Follow the links near the bottom of the page, or use the search engine within the page to find excellent information on almost any medical or health issue.
Addiction Center
This site shares info about drug addiction. Includes detailed information about the dangers of drugs and alcohol.
Talk About Alcohol
This site is by the Alcohol Education Trust.
Alcohol Alert
This site is from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Check for facts on alcohol's damaging effects on the brain.
Health Effects of Alcohol
This site is by Drinkaware Trust. Find out how short and long-term effects of alcohol can affect your body, lifestyle and mental health.
Teens: Alcohol and Other Drugs
This is from the American Academy of Child and Pediatric Psychology.
Social Normalizing of Alcohol
Alcohol: The Most Popular Choice
This site is from the American Academy of Pediatrics.
Alcohol
This page is part of NIDA for Teens, sponsored by the National Institute on Drug Abuse
Tobacco and Cancer
This site is from the American Cancer Society.
Health Effects of Smoking Among Young People
This is from the World Health Organization.
Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids
Tobacco, Nicotine, & E-Cigarettes
This page is part of NIDA for Teens, sponsored by the National Institute on Drug Abuse,
Smoking & Tobacco Use
This site is from the Centers for Disease Control and has lots of information. Follow the links!
HealthFinder.gov - Quit Smoking
Advice for quitting smoking and impact of smoking on your health.
Smokefree.gov
What are the health effects of smoking?
Smokefree Teen: Know the Risks
This website was created by the Tobacco Control Research Branch of the National Cancer Institute to tell about the risks of using tobacco products.
MORE LINKS RELATED TO ALCOHOL AND NICOTINE

Explora Middle School: EBSCO

You will need to login with username and password if you are using from home.

Use Advanced Search to search by reading / grade level.
Database Passwords

SIRS Discoverer (ProQuest)

Use Advanced Search to search by reading / grade level.
ASD Database Passwords

Facts on File: Health Reference Center

Use this for Teen's Health Topics.

You will need to login if you use this database from home.

ASD Database passwords

Health and Wellness (GALE)

ASD Database Passwords

Proquest Family Health

This resource is shared with us from Qatar National Library and is only available at school.

Video (8:10)

KidsEduc – Kids Educational Games

Published on Aug 15, 2014

Research Tools

ASD Database passwords
more...less...
Only available to ASD students and staff.

Recommended Websites

Use Webpath Express to find teacher-recommended websites through the Destiny library catolog.

E-Books!

Investigate Alcohol by Marylou Ambrose; Veronica Deisler
Call Number: 362.29209 AMB (ebook)
ISBN: 9781464612442
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Straightforward information about alcohol, from the physical effects it has on someone's body to reasons why people drink, underage drinking, alcohol's effects on the body, and its influence on behavior and mental health.
Drugs and Alcohol by Kim Etingoff; Ronald Stephens (Editor)
Call Number: 613.8 ETI (ebook)
ISBN: 9781422288306
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Even though many young people know that drugs and alcohol can be deadly, they still put themselves in harm's way by using these unsafe substances.
Alcohol and Tobacco by Rosa Waters; Joshua Borus (Editor)
Call Number: 613.81 WAT (ebook)
ISBN: 9781422288030
Publication Date: 2014-11-17
Find out more about the dangerous consequences of alcohol and tobacco use. Discover the downside of alcohol and tobacco!
Alcohol by Anne Rooney
Call Number: 613.81 ROO (ebook)
ISBN: 9781625133816
Publication Date: 2015
Provides facts, statistics, personal stories, advice, and quotes about alcohol use and abuse.